I be an retarded (volume 16 and 17 questions)

MarkedSwordsman

Am I cool or what?
Ok, so really I just found out about Berserk about 1 month ago. I've been reading all I can, buying older volumes to catch up, trying to find everything. Life would be a lot better if I knew Japanese...anyway, on to my questions. You'll have to excuse my ignorance. Like I said, I'm really new to this.

Ok, in volume 16 Skullknight says

"For a human to follow this path...as cruel as this...can he continue to walk it as a human? Or will he..."

What? Huh? What's he talking about here?

And then in volume 17 the Hawk tells Zodd 'When the skies fall upon the sacred land; where a pillar of flames stands, and blind sheep are gathered...It will come. The thing you seek, will come.' Is he talking about Griffith being reborn? Is Griffith that full of himself or is he talking about something else?

Thanks, and sorry for the dumb questions.

Walter

Administrator
Staff member
These arent dumb questions. Theyre both about rather confusing things if you havent been studying berserk a terrible ammount.

Skull Knights deal in Vol 16. Its mysterious. He could be alluding to what Guts would become if he continued down the path he tread from Volume 14-17, but Guts stopped that path after he visited Godo. Im referring to the demon beast. The beast mentions something similar to Skull Knight. "If you continue to kill, you will become like your friend." (then turns into Griffiths helmet, alluding to Femto). It all has to do with why Guts carries around that Beherit...Its always the X-Factor.

Bottom Line: Still unknown.

Is he talking about Griffith being reborn? Is Griffith that full of himself or is he talking about something else?
That wasnt Griffith per se, it was a vision of the Hawk. It was Femto (or something else?) foreshadowing the events that occur in volume 21. Skies fall, Pillar of Flames, Blind sheep Gathered...It will come. That all happens at Albion around chapters 166-175 (or Volume 21).